May 19. 2024. 1:06

The Daily

Read the World Today

United Nations: High Representative/Vice President Josep Borrell to address the Security Council and General Assembly Special Session on Ukraine


One year after Russia launched its war of aggression against Ukraine, the UN Emergency Session of the General Assembly on Ukraine will start on Wednesday afternoon, where High Representative/Vice-President Borrell will deliver a statement on behalf of the EU on the draft UN Resolution on a just peace in Ukraine. The High Representative/Vice-President’s address will start at 22:00 CET (16:00 EST).

On Thursday, High Representative/Vice-President Josep Borrell will make his annual address to the UN Security Council on cooperation between the United Nations and the European Union at the invitation of Malta, which holds the rotating presidency of the Security Council this month.

In times of global uncertainty, the EU and its Member States remain the strongest partners of the UN in the field of peace and security. We are committed to ensuring leadership in promoting international cooperation and effective multilateralism with a strong United Nations at its core. The High Representative/Vice-President’s address will start at 16:00 CET (10:00 EST).

Audio-visual coverage of his engagements will be provided on EbS and Twitter.

Share this article: