July 15. 2024. 7:40

The Daily

Read the World Today

European Inventor Award 2024 celebrates global innovators transforming industry and society

The European Patent Office (EPO) has announced the winners of the European Inventor Award 2024 at a ceremony in Malta. The laureates, selected from a wide array of candidates and finalists, were celebrated for their innovative contributions that span fields such as automotive manufacturing, computer vision, magnet technology, and renewable energy.

This year’s winners of the European Inventor Award were chosen from 16 finalists, out of over 550 initial candidates proposed from around the world. The finalists represent 14 countries: Ukraine, United Kingdom, Tunisia, Germany, Sweden, Brazil, USA, Iceland, Poland, Finland, France, Italy, Spain, Netherlands, Malta, and Japan. Many of their innovations aim to improve the everyday lives of people around the world and tackle society’s biggest challenges, such as environmental issues, health, and sustainable energy.

The Laureates


The Popular Prize and Young Inventors Prize

Young Inventors Prize

Launched in 2022, this prize recognizes the initiative and creativity of young people. The winner receives EUR 20,000. The second and third-placed finalists receive EUR 10,000 and EUR 5,000, respectively.

Popular Prize

Chosen by the public, this year’s winner is Olga Malinkiewicz, who is also the winner of the SMEs category for her pioneering work in printing solar panels.

Next generation of the Young Inventors Prize in 2025 to take place in Iceland

During today’s ceremony in Malta, the European Patent Office (EPO) announced a new concept for the award, starting in 2025. From next year onward, the award will be held biennially, with the upcoming edition focusing on young innovators below 30 years-old whose inventions address one or more United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). An independent jury of former finalists will evaluate the entries, ensuring a fair and insightful selection process that honours the innovative spirit and achievements of the next generation of inventors. The 2025 edition will be celebrated in Iceland, marking the first of these newly biennial-focused awards, and the nominations period for all technological fields remains open from today until the end of September.

In alternating years, starting in 2026, the EPO will return to the original concept of the European Inventor Award, featuring its traditional categories of ‘Industry’, ‘Research’, ‘SMEs’, ‘Non-EPO countries’, ‘Lifetime Achievement’ and ‘Popular Prize’.

Share this article: